“RI's jobless targeted by online scam” |
| RI's jobless targeted by online scam Posted: 16 Dec 2010 03:11 PM PST Updated: Thursday, 16 Dec 2010, 6:11 PM EST COVENTRY, R.I. (WPRI) - If you are unemployed we have an important alert to tell you about. Scam artists are disguising themselves as local companies to rip you off. But don't be fooled. Call 12 for Action has information to help you take them down instead. Being unemployed anytime is rough. Being unemployed during a recession? Horrible. Karen Sjogren from Coventry lost her job over a year ago because of a merger. "After 5 months my job was basically absorbed." she said. Now, Karen spends countless hours on her computer searching for new jobs. "I use Monster.com, careerbuilder.com, Hot Job, Yahoo. Also, I check company websites." she said Karen says she also checks Craigslist for jobs. That's where she found what she thought was the perfect fit, and responded immediately, and a few days later got a response.. An email was sent to her with all the right buzz words."You have been chosen for further consideration." "Your experience would serve you well in this position" But then came the red flag. The company wanted to run a credit check on Karen. In the email itself, the company provided her a link to click on to get it. But if you take a closer look - the IP address is anything but creditreport.Com. That's when Karen decided to try something else. The real CreditReport.com warns it's users to be aware of phishing. Phishing is when a scam artist will provide you with a fake link to what looks like the real deal. In this case, karen didn't take the bait. Karen called 12 for action to get the word out about this scam. Craigslist now has a warning on it's website so job seekers won't get ripped off. This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service — if this is your content and you're reading it on someone else's site, please read our FAQ page at fivefilters.org/content-only/faq.php |
| You are subscribed to email updates from Content Keyword RSS To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google Inc., 20 West Kinzie, Chicago IL USA 60610 | |

0 comments:
Post a Comment